The way stamp duty is being calculated on the purchase of residential property changes from midnight tonight. According to the Government, 98% of people will save as a result of the changes:

Stamp duty will be cut for 98% of people who pay it. If you’re buying a home for less than £937,500, you will pay less stamp duty, or the same.

HMRC has produced a very useful 2 page fact sheet which explains the new stamp duty tiers and example amounts payable.

For example, according to the fact sheet, from 4 December 2014, a house costing £275,000 (the cost of an average house) will save £4,500 stamp duty compared to the previous rules.

The new tiers and percentages from 4 December are:

  • £ 0 – 125,000 – 0%
  • £125,001 – 250,000 – 2%
  • £250,001 – 925,000 – 5%
  • £925,001 – 1,500,000 – 10%
  • £1,500,001 and over – 12%

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.